Why is healthcare more expensive for me?

denied_iconHi everyone – I know.  I’ve been lazy in updating this site.  But I wanted to tell you about something I’m working on with some of my girlfriends – we’re mobilizing on twitter and elsewhere – and some are coming to DC – to make sure women have equal health care coverage at equal cost.  We want to make sure that’s included in all the healthcare reform work.

Tomorrow Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) is chairing a hearing begins at 10:30am in Dirksen SD-430.  Women have been called to testify about their experiences with insurance companies and discrimination. But you know who else is showing up? Karen Ignani, spokeswoman for America’s Health Insurance Plans.  So if you’re in the area and can come – please express your freedom of assembly and come to the hearing.

My day job beckons, but if you can spare your twitter profile pic, please feel free to use the one in this post – with thanks to the National Women’s Law Center and Rad Campaign.

I will update this post later tonight – if you are working on something similar please leave comments about it in this post.  If you are promoting an action, please also leave it in the comments and I will tweet about it.  Thanks again for all you do!

  1. Thanks for using the icon! We hope it goes far and wide!

    Our Co-President, Marcia Greenberger, will be testifying at the hearing tomorrow.

    And we’re asking everyone to please write to Congress and remind them that being a woman is not a pre-existing condition: https://secure2.convio.net/nwlc/site/Advocacy?cmd=display&page=UserAction&id=423

  1. 1 Why We Changed Our Twitter Avatars « Politicoholic by Nisha Chittal

    […] So I wanted to throw up a quick post answering that question. Fortunately my friend Tanya already did: I wanted to tell you about something I’m working on with some of my girlfriends – we’re […]




Leave a Reply

