Women at a Crossroads – Fem2pt0

I just gained 300 new sisters.  There’s really no other way to say it.  Take a look at highlights from our panel:

Feminism 2.0 at George Washington University was AMAZING.  Jen Nedeau, Cynthia Samuels and I lead a discussion about how we as women – in a cross-generational way – reach each other online AND offline.  LaurieWrites graciously liveblogged the panel.

I wasn’t sure what I would find at this conference. I think there are some of us women who are part of the Third Wave of feminism that have found it difficult to connect with women of the Second Wave.  I found myself being frustrated by the idea that my peers (women in their late 20s) would not embrace the label of “feminist” yet they would express values that were – to my way of thinking – very feminist in nature.  Was there a movement?  I had yet to find a mentor or a tribal elder to learn from.  Why did I always feel left out?

This conference turned all of that around.

In the panel, I raised the idea that we face a “Woman’s Conundrum”: we represent a vast majority of consumer decisions and electoral decisions, and yet we do not hold a majority of senior positions in Fortune 500 companies, nor are we at parity in representation in Federal office.

In Business and our representation in the workforce, consider:

  • 2.4%: Percentage of female Fortune 500 CEOs
  • 6.7%: Percentage of female Fortune 500 top earners
  • 15.4%: Percentage of female Fortune 500 corporate officers
  • 14.8%: Percentage of female Fortune 500 board seats
  • 46.3%: Percentage of women in the U.S. labor force
  • 50.6%: Percentage of women in management, professional and related occupations

In electoral politics, further consider:

  • 17%: Percentage of female members of the 111th US Congress (House and Senate)
  • 74 Representatives, 17 Senators (all-time high)
  • 9 female Governors in 2009
  • Historically only 229 women served in Congress, and only 37 were women of color.
  • Only 31 women have served as Governor.

It’s time to take up the authority that we express every day in our choices – in what to buy for our families and who we vote for.

It’s time. Let’s be that change.  Let’s solve this conundrum.

  1. Thanks for the video. I only wish I could have been in 2 places at the same time. It was great to meet you, sister!

  2. Becky W

    Interesting video. Always good to see women wrestling with feminism, generational politics and building power.

    Thanks for sharing esp. for those of us who couldn’t get over there.

  3. Callie Carson

    I find it interesting that you censored a certain brave young woman who spoke out on what was troubling her and yet included other women’s opinions about what was troubling them. It wasn’t easy for her and yet she also tells the story of what feminism means to her.

  4. I edited a lot of people out of the video, including myself. I think the opinions that were expressed captured a majority of what was said in that room. Youtube only gives me 10 minutes.

  5. Wow, I really wish I had gone.

  1. 1 Womanism 101 « black girl blogging.

    […] NotMyGal has a great video from a panel called At the Crossroads, a dialogue about bridging the generation gap in feminism. LaurieWrites liveblogged the session. […]

  2. 2 See What’s Out There » Blog Archive » See3 at Fem2.0

    […] a video that Nerdette from NotMyGal filmed of that panel (yup, that’s me listening in the […]

  3. 3 Fresh Cut Media » Rocking It At Fem2.0

    […] a video that Nerdette from NotMyGal filmed of that panel (yup, that’s me listening in the […]




Leave a Reply

