Feminist 3.0

I’ve thrown around this phrase “third-wave feminist” a bit. What does it mean? It generally refers to the next wave of women, starting in the 1990s, who are redefining and moving the agenda of women forward. But what the hell does that mean? I’d like to think it means this:

Feminist 3.0: Anyone (regardless of gender) who is proudly Pro-Choice, fights to protect the health, safety and well-being of women and healthy families, and is for Equal Pay for Equal Work.

That means they don’t make women pay for rape kits when they are assaulted. That means they don’t say they want to overturn a woman’s protect of privacy, as deemed Constitutional by Roe V. Wade. That means they DO advocate for ending domestic violence, and address issues of protecting women from domestic violence in a clear, proactive way. It probably means a million other things as well, but this is a start.

I think getting to the definition of Feminist 3.0 is going to be a creative, chaotic and social activity in and of itself. Women need to have a deliberative and inclusive dialogue on what it means to be a Feminist in the 21st century. Nothing strikes me as more contradictory than a bunch of strong, smart, capable and educated women prefacing statements with “I’m not a feminist, but….” Do you agree with being able to go to college, get a job, get paid what you’re worth? End violence towards women? Give women (and men) the tools they need to build healthy families? Then yes, you are a feminist! Be proud. Even with a high level of confusion on what a feminist is these days, but it doesn’t mean we have to keep wandering around in the darkness. Many women are starting on the path to reclaiming that space. Not My Gal was recently linked to by an AWESOME blog called The Political Voices of Women which features over 500 women bloggers who all write about politics. We have also included a sample of feminist blogs in our blogroll. We look forward to help on how to add to that list.

It’s also appropriate that the Internet is going to help us get to the new definition of Feminism. There is something inherently feminine about the online world, because cooperation is more immediately beneficial than competition. I remember sitting in a class on negotiation in college, and the professor made the point that competition often typified as a male form of engagement, whereas cooperation is considered a more female form of engagement. Cooperation in linking, use of Digg, Reddit, and using other social networks to promote ideas or content always spurs more traffic and wins the day.

Which brings us back to defining Feminism 3.0. Let’s start this dialogue! What are things that define what a Feminist is? And what are some of the ways you might lose your “Team Gal” card?

  1. I am so in love with this site. And Nerdette, you are my newest blog crush!

    I’m so glad is someone is talking about the things I have been thinking about for so long!

    I say feminist 3.0 is supporting ALL choices moms make, work, stay home, father as primary caregiver. A woman in my sons school told me she was sorry when I told her I had a job. I said, “I’m not.” Feminist 3.0 means no more mommy wars.

  2. Jeff

    I suppose Third Wave is an evolution of Second Wave, but with these very important revelations.

    First, anti-equality forces have become more subtle in their strategies. They are no longer attacking women’s rights head on, but rather chipping away at them piece by piece. They need to be fought on these smaller issues with the same tenacity, and with a clear vision of why these little pieces are so important to the overall whole.

    Second, not all women are FOR women, and not all people who claim to be Feminists ARE Feminists (*cough* Sarah Palin *cough*). It’s time to reclaim the mantle of Feminism from those who abuse it for their own gain – or degrade it for political points. “Not My Gal” is an excellent example of the fight against exactly this abuse and degradation.

    Lastly, and the most important realization of all, that Feminism is an integral part of the larger cause of Equality for all. Those who neglect the rights of other minorities around them – or worse, act against those minorities – do damage to the cause of Feminism itself. Racism and gay-bashing have no part in a movement for social change and should not be tolerated from its members.

    That’s what Feminism 3.0 means to me.

    –Jeff

  3. Thanks for the shout out for The Political Voices of Women. I would love for you to do a guest post. Let me know if that is something you would be interested in.

    Best,
    Catherine

  4. I will totally take you up on that, Catherine! Thanks for stopping by! LURVE your blog.

    Jeff, you’re making me swoon a little. 🙂

    Jodifur, can I tell you how happy I would be for us to forge a seriously strong bond between mommies, mommy fans and mommies in training? I hope 3.0 Feminists can find a way to define ourselves such that we build a coalition, not fight amongst ourselves….

    Also I want to turn the picture in to a tshirt. Like really bad.

  5. Courtney

    Hooray! I’m feminist 3.0!

    Don’t forget, feminists aren’t seeking equality – that would imply that there is someone we need to be equal to. We just want the right to be people too.

  6. megananne

    Amen Sister. I think this is the start of something great. And thank you for letting me be a part of this.

  7. Dearest Nerdette: I responded to your post:

    http://culture11.com/blogs/ladyblog/2008/10/16/i-want-to-be-a-feminist-too/

    Thanks for starting the conversation.

  1. 1 LadyBlog » Blog Archive » I Want To Be a Feminist, Too

    […] of NotMyGal recently pointed me to a blog post in which she defines third wave feminism (” 3.0 feminism”) as: “Anyone, […]




Leave a Reply

